Services Guide

The School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (SGPS) invites you to review the information below to access our services.

If you have reviewed our Services Guide and still have questions, SGPS staff can also be reached by telephone Monday - Friday from 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
519-661-2102 (General Inquiries) | 519-850-2341 (Admissions Inquiries)

Admissions

Graduate admissions is a collaborative effort between SGPS and the graduate program.  SGPS maintains the graduate application service within the Student Center environment and performs an initial preliminary assessment for all submitted applications.  SGPS also provides staffing dedicated to helping applicants with any application-related questions.  

Programs review the SGPS-assessed applications and make decisions on who to admit and not admit to their program. They also determine program-specific requirements and setup such as deadlines to apply, required documents and additional information collected from the applicant.

New Students

  • Transcripts: please arrange to have your electronic copy sent to gradapps@uwo.ca.
  • Study permit: email a clear copy of your study permit to Chris Goff cgoff6@uwo.ca.
  • Diploma: email a clear copy of your diploma to gradapps@uwo.ca

Additional Resources

Student Academic Services

The School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (SGPS) is home to a team that manages all administrative aspects of the graduate student experience throughout a student's time at Western. These services include admission deferrals, changes in registration, course enrollment, degree progression, and all the elements of thesis development.

  • Funding package questions: contact your graduate program
  • Course enrolment questions: contact your graduate program
  • Change of registration questions (e.g. part-time, leave of absence): contact your graduate program
  • Residency/tuition level changes (e.g. new permanent resident): email a clear copy of Confirmation of Permanent Residence (COPR) or other documentation to Kimi Maruoka kmaruoka@uwo.ca
  • University Health Insurance Plan (UHIP) contact the UHIP office hrhelp@uwo.ca
  • Society of Graduate Students (SOGS) health plan contact SOGS sogs@uwo.ca
  • All other non-academic questions contact Student Experience sscm@uwo.ca

Additional Resources

Funding and Fees

In addition to providing funding support packages for our research-based graduate students, SGPS manages provincial, national, and international scholarships, in addition to a suite a donor-funded awards to help our graduate students access every funding opportunity available to them.

  • Tri-Agency (CIHR, NSERC, SSHRC) and Other National/International Awards & Scholarships contact Paula Menzies Cameron pmenzies@uwo.ca
  • Provincial and Donor Awards & Scholarships, including OGS/QEIIGSST contact Erin Daley edaley2@uwo.ca
  • Preparing for Scholarship Competitions contact Paula Menzies Cameron pmenzies@uwo.ca
  • Student Center Payments contact Erin Daley edaley2@uwo.ca

Personnel

Office of the Vice-Provost

Linda Miller
Vice-Provost (Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies)
E-mail: lmiller@uwo.ca
Phone: ext. 84607

Lorraine Davies
Associate Vice-Provost (Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies)
E-mail: ldavies@uwo.ca
Phone: ext. 81335

Ruth Martin
Associate Vice-Provost (Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies)
E-mail: remartin@uwo.ca
Phone: ext. 84609

Ann Hoffer
Administrative Assistant
E-mail: ahoffer@uwo.ca
Phone: ext. 84607

Connie Kyle
Administrative Assistant
E-mail: cvukson@uwo.ca
Phone: ext. 88852

Candace Loosley
Administrative Coordinator
E-mail: cloosley@uwo.ca

Ron Wagler
Director of Administration
E-mail: ron.wagler@uwo.ca
Phone: ext. 84636

Admissions

Teri Hern
Manager, Graduate Admissions
E-mail: thern2@uwo.ca
Phone: ext. 84901

James Taron
Admissions Coordinator
E-mail: jtaron2@uwo.ca 
Phone: ext. 85413

Briawna Taylor
Admissions Assistant
E-mail: btaylo48@uwo.ca 
Phone: ext. 84610

Student Academic Services

Kimi Maruoka
Manager, Student Academic Services
E-mail: kmaruoka@uwo.ca
Phone: ext. 84662

Chris Bell
Student Academic Services Coordinator
Membership Coordinator
E-mail: cbell57@uwo.ca
Phone: ext. 83930

Chris Circelli
Program Coordinator (Graduate Program Design)
E-mail: ccircel@uwo.ca

Chris Goff
Administrative Assistant
E-mail: cgoff6@uwo.ca
Phone: ext. 82102

Krystyna Locke
Thesis Coordinator
E-mail: klocke2@uwo.ca
Phone: ext. 83914

Financial Support

Paula Menzies
Manager, Financial Support
E-mail: pmenzies@uwo.ca
Phone: ext. 84615

Erin Daley
Scholarship Coordinator
E-mail: edaley2@uwo.ca 
Phone: ext. 85191

Doctoral Professional Development

Julie Jonkhans
Doctoral Professional Development Coordinator
E-mail: julie.jonkhans@uwo.ca
Phone: ext. 80326

Postdoctoral Services

Mihaela Harmos
Postdoctoral Services Coordinator
E-mail: mharmos@uwo.ca
Phone: ext. 80468

Communications

Mark Wolfe
Manager, Communication
E-mail: mwolfe24@uwo.ca
Phone: ext. 80112

Data Analysis

Crystal Middaugh
Senior Data Analyst
E-mail: cmiddaug@uwo.ca
Phone: ext. 84619

Information Systems

Matt Dumouchel
Manager, Information Systems
E-mail: mdumouc2@uwo.ca
Phone: ext. 82684

Tom Broniewicz
Web Developer, Information Systems
E-mail: tbroniew@uwo.ca
Phone: ext. 85705